Marc M. Zaré MD: 408-358-1855Marc M. Zaré, MD, FACS - Advanced Laparoscopic Surgery
 
 
 
 

Patient TestimonialsSubmit Your Testimonials

Visit Obesityhelp.com for more weight loss surgery testimonials

J N San Jose, Hernia Surgery

A few months back I needed to have a double hernia surgery. It had been bothering me for some time and I finally got it done by Dr. Zare. We settled on doing it laproscopically. When he got inside it turned out I had a triple hernia, which though a bit of a surpirise was no problem for Dr. Zare to fix. Since that time I've healed quickly, with very little pain. The two of the three small scars are essentially invisible and the third one is a tiny line below my navel, about 1/2 inch long.

If you are considering such a procedure I highly recommend Dr. Zare and his staff. They made the process more smooth and effective that I would have thought possible. I walked in that morning and was out within 2-3 hours and it hasn't been an issue since.

K N Felton, Gastric Bypass Surgery

Dr. Zare performed my gastric bypass surgery in Aug 2012. He was absolutely fantastic. Very professional and did a awesome job. I have lost about 150lbs so far and would highly recommend Dr.Zare. From the first consultation to my last checkup he has done a great job. He discussed all the options (Lap-band, sleeve, or Roux-enY) with me and helped me make the best decision for me. He didnt try to push one particular procedure on me but we worked together to find the best procedure for my situation. Feel free to message me if you have any further questions.

J K San Mateo, Laparoscopic Hernia Surgery

We used him for laparoscopic hernia surgery. He was very nice and professional, as was his team. They did a fine job and everything went smoothly. We chose him because he had a lot of experience (over 2000 surgeries) and he was recommended in our insurance network. Considering that it was surgery, it was a good experience.

C G San Jose, Roux-en-Y Surgery and Gallbladder Removal

Dr. Zare is AMAZING!! I am so glad I chose him to be my surgeon. He did a wonderful job on my Roux-en-Y surgery and Gallbladder removal on 11/29/11. When I first met him I instantly felt comfortable with his ability and was very confident with my decision to do the surgery and have him as my surgeon.

Also, unlike most surgeons Dr. Zare has amazing bedside manor. I would recommend him and Ben (who is equally amazing!) to anyone I know looking for a Bariatric Surgeon. Thanks Ben and Dr. Zare for giving me a new lease on life :-)

K D Los Gatos

I was referred to Dr. Zare as the result of an emergency room visit. He and his staff were extremely responsive, and I had an appointment the same day that I called -- and surgery scheduled for two days later.

I really appreciated Dr. Zare's pleasant, quiet, respectful and confident professionalism. He took the time both to listen to me and to make sure that I understood the surgery and recovery.

Dr. Zare's "bedside manner" in the OR was warm and compassionate -- and went a long way to helping me stay calm. All in all, I always felt that I was in good hands.

A+ all the way around!

P B Gilroy

Marc Zare, has not yet accomplished the feat of walking on water, but pretty close to it in my books! He is an outstanding Professional that takes the time for each and everyone of his patients. Like they're the only ones in the world he has.

His surgery technique is the best I have ever seen or obtained. (as I am a professional in the medical feild also) Of course there is pain after the surgery, but no more than any other surgery one may have. His bedside manner and natural human kindness makes HIM TOPS as the surgeon I know and love as a professional.

Ben his office assistant is by far one of the best. His general human compassion and effectiveness assist in all of your needs as a patient. He is amazing with the help of insurance companies and getting all your needs met. Thank You Marc & Ben, You gave me my life back.

180 pounds lighter

L G Campbell, Bariatric Surgery

Outstanding doctor! Dr. Zare changed my life with bariatric surgery in 2010. My health has improved dramatically, no more high blood pressure, high cholesterol, or GERD! I could not be happier. He advocated for me with my insurance company (along with Ben, his office assistant), and made the entire process stress free. Despite a few minor health issues since the initial surgery, I remain beyond pleased with the results and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anyone considering bariatric surgery. I have achieved goal weight and am healthier and happier than I can remember in a very, very long time. I am so thankful I had the surgery, and I'd do it again in a second (only MUCH sooner)!

T V San Jose, GallBladder Issues

Referred to Dr. Marc Zare for my GallBladder issues. He is "outstanding" , "the Best"! His bedside manner is extremely calming and reassuring. He explains in detail what the problem is and how he will resolve it. He also explained the surgery would be both Laproscopic and Robotic. His office staffi (Amelia) is very efficient and professional as well. I would highly recommend Dr. Zare to anyone looking for a surgeon.

M G Fremont

He was everything I could have asked for in a doctor. Got the Vertical Sleeve 3 months ago and he was awesome throughout the process. Highly recommended.

B J San Jose, Acid Reflux Issues

I was seen by Dr. Zare a few months ago for some acid reflux issues. He was professional and knowledgeable and spent a great deal of time with me addressing my issues and educating me. Fortunately I am not in need of any surgery at this time but would not hesitate to use Dr. Zare should the need arise.

SJ Y N San Jose

I feel the staff advocated on my behalf and Dr. Zare was incredibly generous. Thanks!

T P Los Gatos, Hernia Repair.

Dr. Zare performed surgery on me to repair a bilateral hernia.

He was very attentive and informative, making sure I understood the procedure and answered all my questions. I was very pleased with the results, and recovery time. I had practically no pain after the surgery, and after only a day away from work, felt comfortable enough to go about my normal daily activities.

Ben, and his office staff were very friendly and efficient...making sure that all things were handled before and after the surgery. I would also recommend the Silicon Valley Surgery Center on Bascom Ave where the procedure was performed. Their staff and facilities were equally efficient, very friendly and professional.

Overall, I am very pleased with the results of my procedure and would highly recommend Dr. Zare and the SV Surgery Center for anyone needing a hernia repair.

J C San Jose, Laparoscopic Hernia Repair.

Fantastic doctor! I had inguinal hernia, which required surgery. After researching the options and seeing another doctor first, I decided to go with laparoscopy. From what I read, laparoscopy should be performed by a doctor who is experience with laparoscopy. I did not know Dr. Zare before the hernia, but found him from the Blue Shield website and on the internet. Initially I chose him because of his extensive experience with laparoscopy and laparoscopic hernia repair. During the consultation visit with Dr. Zare, I found him very professional, competent, calm, warm, and pleasant. I liked him and decided to go with the surgery. His office assistant was also nice and competent. Then came the surgery day. The Forest surgery center staff and the anesthesiologist were excellent. Dr. Zare was a master. My wife drove me back home after the surgery. By 1 pm I was resting at home; I felt well and was able to walk around (slowly), eat, etc. With the pain killer pill, there was little pain. To my surprise, the next day after the surgery I felt well and did not take any pain killers of any kind. The third day was even better, I went out. I went to work part time on the fourth day (I had the operation on Tuesday and worked Friday half day). By Monday, I was almost back to normal. By Friday of the week after the operation, I took a flight. The bottom line is that, from pain perspective, this operation was the best I ever had (I have had others). I am in my mid fifties and healthy. Aesthetically, The operation left hardly any scars. Today is 15 days after the operation, I had my follow-up visit with Dr. Zare, and I am perfectly back to normal. Results speak for themselves. Dr. Zare performed an outstanding surgery, and I am very delighted. Highly recommend.

J J Morgan Hill

I was referred to Dr. Zare' by my gastroenterologist for a lap-coli. I was surprised, very pleasantly, with how quickly I was able to make an appointment. I found Amelia, Dr. Zare's assistant, to be very efficient and proficient, not to mention just plain nice!

The surgery went well and the overall experience was great. I highly recommend Dr. Zare' and his staff.

T H San Jose, Inguinal Hernia

I was diagnosed with a inguinal hernia from my PCP and he referred me to Dr. Zare. Dr. Zare was very informative and educated me about the best procedure to do to correct my hernia. The scheduling process are very easy and they provide me an estimate for their portion of the surgery above my insurance coverage. The only thing I think I would mention to other individuals is to ask who the other providers (anesthesiologist and surgical centers) are beforehand so you can find out if they are also part of your plan and if there will be additional costs from them above your insurance as well. I was a little surprised by the fees from the other providers.

My surgery went really well. The recovery was pretty easy...there was some amount of pain, but only for a few days. After 10 days, I was able to start exercising again and have had no complications or any issues.

Dr. Zare and Amelia (his front office coordinator) are really friendly and professional and follow-through very well. If you have to consider hernia surgery, you should see Dr. Zare for certain.

F D San Jose, Inguinal Hernia

I had inguinal hernia for over a year and finally I decided to get it treated. After research and talking to doctors I decided for laparoscopy. Overall I had good experience with his performance and work ethics. He explained in advance about details of procedure to my satisfaction. I found him very professional, competent, calm, and pleasant. My only advice is that he should make one courtesy after the surgery to check if patient needed help or advice. I had issues which took longer for me to sort out myself.

M B Gilroy

Doctor Marc Zare is a wonderful doctor. I recommended him to a friend of mine who will soon be seeing Dr. Zare.

Dr. Marc Zare is one of the best surgeons I have had the pleasure of coming to know in Northern California. He is professional, and in my opinion is one of the top surgeons in his field of bariatric surgery in Northern California. In my lifetime I have been to famous doctors in Beverly Hills, and in Orange County and I can honestly say that he is in their league. I highly recommend Dr. Marc Zare, and am confident that you will be delighted to have him as your surgeon. I have no regrets, other than wishing I had seen Dr. Zare 10 years ago.

Thank you Dr Zare for changing my life!

C I Gilroy

Dr. Zare is amazing! Almost 2 years ago i walked in his office twice the size i am now with half the confidence and health i have today. I was nervous about getting the gastric bypass, but Dr. Zare made me feel comfortable and safe with my decision. I had my surgery at El camino hospital and the staff was quick to cater to me and make me comfortable and Dr. Zare made frequent visits to my room after surgery. His staff is amazing and I can't imagine goig to any other surgeon. I highly recommend Dr. Zare if you are interested in making a lifetime decision and want a surgeon who will make it pleasant and easy for you!

J G San Martin

Dr. Zare and his staff were well organized. He explained the process and procedure, guided me through the insurance maze. I felt comfortable with his explanations. I felt he took the time customize my procedure to my needs. Together we hit all the target dates for the procedure.

He had the hinesite to recomend additional prework before the procedure ( Installation of a filter for clots ) Which I feel helped me out a lot. As with any surgury there are possible negative outcomes , but the experience / knowledge he brings to the table greatly minimizes those negative outcomes. You will be pleased with the end results.

My life has changed and continues to improve in all aspects. I have no hesitation to say "I recommend Dr Zare ".

M B Gilroy

I had bariatric surgery in April of 2011 with Dr.Zare and it was the best decision I ever made! I have no regrets what so ever. I am 5'9 and weighed 285lbs and now 16 months later I weigh 168lbs! I went from a size 22 to a 10... no more high blood pressure, cholesterol or sleep apnea machine! I bought a horse and can get on him without a stool... what a great feeling! Dr. Zare and Ben are wonderful and professional in every sense of the word! I would highly recommend their clinic to anyone considering weight loss surgery!

K C Gilroy

Dr.Zare is PHENOMENAL! He did a fabulous job on my Roux-en-Y 12/05/11. I have lost 109lbs to date. Dr. Zare & his assistant, Ben walked me & my husband through the entire process, told us what to expect & were there when we had questions. The day of my surgery, I was so calm & I attribute that to knowing what to expect. Ben did a great job working with my insurance company to get me approved & notified me as soon as it got approved. Dr. Zare also has an amazing bedside manner. I wouldn't change one thing about my surgery & will highly recommend Dr. Zare to anyone looking for weight loss surgery. Thank you Dr. Zare & Ben for giving my a fresh start to the rest of my life, you guys are amazing!

V P San Jose

Dr. Zare is the most amazing doctor!!! I have lived with intestinal issues for close to 30 years. It became very hard to function anymore and my quality of life was getting worse and worse. All the doctors through the years I met with were reluctant to operate...It is an odd concept...having to find a doctor you can trust so after a bad visit to OR, I read all the reviews on yelp and scheduled my appointment with him as it seems everyone loved him. I had no intention of scheduling surgery at that point, I was very scared and when he walked in, I felt better already, he has a very calming personality. He was very understanding, kind, warm and professional and he summed up my problems quickly. He said he could fix me.... I did not hesitate...I had surgery 6 days later and he DID fix me!!!! I knew when I met with him that I could trust him and I am so glad I went to him. If you have to have surgery, choose him....He is my hero!!!!

S P San Jose, Bilateral Inguinal Hernia

I saw Dr Zare for a bilateral inguinal hernia. He was very courteous, professional and, most importantly for me since this was my first surgery, reassuring. He explained the pros and cons of both laparoscopic and open surgery and I chose the former.

Surgery was scheduled on the day of my choice and performed at the Knowles Surgery Center (which I also highly recommend). I was a bit nervous but the staff at the surgery center and Dr Zare were very cheerful and reassuring and it was over before I knew it! Recovery was quick - just like Dr Zare said.

Based on my experience, I highly recommend Dr Zare as well as the staff at the Knowles Surgery Center. I hope I never see him again in his professional capacity but if needed I would not hesitate to go back to him.

M D Marina

I've found Dr. Zare and his assitant Ben so wonderful and helpful. They are very professional. They worked extremely hard and quickly to get me into surgery before my wedding. Another thing I really liked was when they said "Let me give you a call back at ___ time" they did! I didn't have to call them back. ALL of my questions and concerns were answered and I feel very confident in Dr. Zare and my surgery. July 12th couldn't come any sooner!.

G K San Jose

If you are looking for a gastric bypass surgeon. Then Dr. Zare is the doctor for you. Being in the medical field, I have never met a doctor who is has caring and understanding as he is. He explained everything in detail to myself and family members who had concerns about the surgery. During my surgery and hospitalization he came in a couple times a day to make sure I was ok and did I have any concerns. The hospital staff could not say enough good things about Dr. Zare and that I was lucky to have one of the best surgeons at Good Samaritan Hospital to perform my surgery. Boy were they righ!!!!. Ben at his office is one of the best receptionist that I have ever dealt in my 25 years of medical experience. Ben made sure any questions and concerns I had were handle promptly. I would highly recommend this office to anyone who is looking for a professional, caring doctor.

P W Cupertino

If I could pick zero stars, I would. My primary care Dr recommended I talked to Dr Zare so I called and told him I had been referred for a particular issue. First I was told the Dr wouldn't see me and in fact, won't even talk to me but that they would confirm that with the Dr and let me know later that day. That day, no response - called the next morning, told me they would have a response from the Dr by 1pm, no response - called the next day, was promised would have a response by 4pm - no response and never called me back. --- Not a Dr I would recommend to anyone or us, if this is their customer service - very poor and discourteous.

M M Saratoga

I was impressed with Dr. Zare's work and professionalism. He made me feel comfortable and explains everything in detail.. His office staff is also great to work with as well!

N S Cupertino, Hiatal Hernia Surgery

Dr. Zare and his staff are wonderful. Ben, his assistant, is fabulous. He calls and follows up and I just can't say enough good things. The doctor is always on time and listens to my concerns and explains things to me in english. He's highly recommended in my book! I am recovering well from hiatal hernia surgery and I believe that it was a complete success because of the skill of Dr. Zare.

P K San Jose

Dr. Zare is polite, kind and professional. His staff are pleasant and helpful.

Dr. Zare did my surgery at Good Samaritan Hospital in San Jose. I was treated courteously and kindly by everyone. Everyone. I couldn't be happier with any part of the process or any of the people who looked after me. It was quick and efficient without me feeling rushed. Dr Zare obviously had a great rapport with the other staff at the hospital and they spoke highly of him.

In the last 5 years I have had 9 surgeries in 6 different locations nearby, and I was treated just as well at the Good Sam as I have been anywhere else.

If I need surgery again I'll go to Dr Zare, and I'll recommend him to my friends.

G Q San Jose

First of all I just want to deeply thank Dr. Zare for the exceptional job he did with my surgery. His surgical skills are second to none. I was very reassured when I arrived at the hospital for my surgery and the nursing staff told me how lucky I was that he was my surgeon. My surgery went exceptionally well and I had no complications . I highly recommended Dr. Zare to my personal physician as well as my co-workers. Dr. Zaree takes the time to explain in great detail what to expect during and after the surgery. He took the time to answer all my wife's questions and mine. You can tell he is very compassionate from the moment you meet him.

I would also like to thank the office staff for there professionalism and attentiveness (thanks Ben). I know that if I ever need another surgery I will not hesitate to call on Dr. Zare.

B S Lexington

Dr. Zare' performed two major surgeries on my husband. We wanted to attest to his phenomenal surgical skills and his fantastic humility qualities. HE HAS IT ALL! !

When Dr. Zare' was scheduled to leave for California, he stayed an extra two weeks at the Veterans' Hospital in MA to make sure that my husband was at a point medically where he felt comfortable leaving him. Dr. Zare' also made sure that my husband was left in very capable hands. Dr. Zare' saved my husbands's life and my sanity. He is simply "THE BEST." I hope he remembers us as fondly as we remember him. Some day, Dr. Zare' e-mail me and let us know how you are doing.

J A San Jose

I was referred to Dr. Zare at the emergency room. It was late at night and I had appendicitis. Dr. Zare performed the surgery within a couple of hours. Everything turned out fine, I felt like I was well taken care of. And the scars are very tiny.

M H, VSG

VSG Surgery on 12/17/12. Dr. Zare is a very professional, caring, thorough and phenomenal Surgeon!! Thank you Dr Zare for performing the perfect VSG surgery with no issues or complications. I had put off wls surgery for several years, as this was my first surgery & I was increadibly afraid of surgery. Dr. Zare is a God send! I no longer have a fear of surgery and am so grateful for the VSG surgery! It is changing my life for the better, as I lose weight & only need to take Diabetes meds on rare occasion. This is all made possible by Dr. Zare. Dr. Zare was the 3rd Surgeon I visited and I am so happy he was the one to performe my surgery! I highly recommend Dr. Zare to anyone contemplating surgery! It has been a pleasure interacting with Dr. Zare & his wonderful staff (thanks, Amelia)!

T L, VSG

Dr. Zare and his staff have been a pleasure to work with. I had the VSG on 10/23/12. Dr. Zare is very professional and thorough. Dr. Zare and his staff continue to answer questions as they come up from time to time. I was provided with an information binder which covers what to expect before, during and after surgery as well as what you should be eating and the vitamins you should be taking. I would highly recommend Dr. Zare to anyone including close friends and family.

C M T, Laparoscopic Hernia Surgery

Dr. Zare' is a very caring, sensitive and, professional doctor. Dr. Zare' take the time to listen and I mean really listen to his patience, I know he did that with me.

In addition and most importantly he is an incredible surgeon. Originally it was thought that my surgery would have to be an open stomach surgery and could take up to 8 hours but Dr. Zare' being such an incredible doctor he was able to perform the surgery via laproscopic and it went from 8 hours to a 4 hour surgery.

I would recommend Dr. Zare' to all my Friends and Family.

J C R, San Francisco: Laparoscopic Hernia Surgery

I was referred to Dr. Zare by my primary care physician, who also gave me the name of two other surgeons in the area. He did mention that I did not have to look any further since Dr. Zare's results he had seen were superb. I did however do an extensive research of the surgeons in the City all the way to Southbay and even contacted one of the patients who had had surgery and had volunteered to talk to new patients.

I was amazed by how much praise people had for their surgeon and the whole experience they had gone through. So, it was an easy decision at that point for me. And I must say, everything I went through myself just proved everyone else right. From the first encounter, I noticed that the office was very well put together. The assistant was polite and very professional. Dr. Zare himself was on top of his game. He gave me so much information about my problem, what caused it, different options, and showed me some photos to understand it all better. I mentioned to him that I play at the collegiate level and I was re-assured when he told me that he has had many players from San Jose State, and other Universities.

The surgery itself went well. I was very nervous but don't remember much of what happened (which is a good thing!). What was amazing is that within 24 hours I was out doing shopping and even went for a long walk with my dog without much discomfort. Dr. Zare gave me full permission to go back to playing football after 10 days and I can't say how important that was for me because I would have otherwise missed a whole season. Needless to say the hernia is gone, and I stopped thinking about it 4-5 days after the surgery. Overall, I am just thankful to my primary care doc and my surgeon who made me aware of laparoscopy. It made the whole experience very pleasant.

M M, Laparoscopic Roux-en-y Gastric Bypass Surgery

Thank you Dr. Zare for giving me the tools to change my life!

I had my laparoscopic roux-en-y gastric bypass surgery in July 2011. I have lost more than 100 lbs so far and I am very happy living an active life. I was initially nervous about having the surgery but Dr. Zare thoroughly explained what I needed to know about the different types of weight loss surgeries, it's history, and other things that I was able to choose the right one for me. Dr. Zare and Ben, the office coordinator were very supportive pre and post op. Ben made sure that they scheduled my surgery on the date I requested and that made a big difference. Their system worked for me. I was not asked to do more than what was needed to be done pre-op so I was not discouraged. This surgery was the best thing I've ever done for myself and I thank my lucky stars that a colleague, also a WLS patient of Dr. Zare referred me to her very competent doctor.

C D, Bariatric Surgery

March 2012 - 3 year update!!!! I am happy to report that 3 years after surgery I have maintained my incredible weight loss. My current weight is 150 with a BMI of 23. Since my surgery I have become MUCH more active!!! I take yoga classes regularly and have become a runner. (Last year I ran 3 half marathons, and am currently training for my 4th). Amazing that I can now run 13+ miles where as before I could barely walk down the street!!!! Dr. Zare' continues to provide a wealth of knowledge and support during my lifelong journey to be healthy. Thanks Dr. Zare'!!!!

Sept 09 - My surgery was 6 months ago. I am amazed at how fast my life and body has changed. I have lost over 100 pounds and my BMI has gone from Morbidly Obese to get this NORMAL. I am 13 pounds away from my goal and life is fantastic. Dr. Zare' has been with me every step of the way. From follow up visits to phone calls. When I have needed him he has been there (and Ben is pretty great too). I even get calls just to make sure I am doing good and staying on track. I could not have chosen a better surgeon or office to be my partner through my bariatric surgery. Thanks for saving my life and helping me make the best of my future!rnrnFeb 09 - After having my insurance approved and then denied 4 years ago (and losing and gaining 50 pounds) - I felt like I was ready to start the process of looking into weight loss surgery once again. I met with 3 surgeons in the San Jose area and was most impressed with Dr. Zare' and his office coordinator, Ben. Dr. Zare' was very informative in explaining the benefits/risks of gastric bypass vs lap band. His friendly, relaxed and upbeat manner reassured me that he was the surgeon for me. I did not feel any pressure from him or his office (which I did from one of the other surgeons). My approval process was incredibly fast (thanks Ben) and I was scheduled for surgery on March 4, 2009. My surgery did not go as smooth as planned due to a medication reaction on my part. However, Dr. Zare was completely on top of the problem, working with me, my family, the nurses and additional doctors to resolve the problem. His bedside manner was fantastic, always reassuring me in his calm manner that everything was going to work out fantastic (and it did!) plus he was always available (checking in on me in person numerous times a day and by phone with the nursing staff). I was well aware of the risks before surgery, but never thought that I would have any problems, I am so glad that Dr. Zare was my surgeon. His conservative proactive approach and excellent surgical skills truly saved my life. I give him an A+ rating in both surgical competence and bedside manner.

M S, San Jose: Hernia Operation

Dear Dr. Zare

Just a short note to again express my appreciation for your expert attention and skill with my recent hernia operation. There was NO pain or discomfort experienced during the post-surgery period, and things have returned to normal as you predicted. My thanks also to Ben for his assistance with the various appointments and arrangements which helped it all to go so smoothly.

Best wishes for your continued success

A L, San Jose: Laparoscopic gall bladder surgery

Dr. Zare performed laparoscopic cholecystectomy to remove my gallbladder. He was very reassuring and took the time to explain everything about the cause of gallstones, the various treatments and possible problems. He made me very comfortable and at the time of the surgery at Good Samaritan Hospital I could not have had better care and all of the staff was very attentive and caring. The procedure went well and Dr. Zare's skills are really amazing and I highly recommend him if you ever need his services.

J S, San Jose: Laparoscopic inguinal hernia repair

I recently received a laparoscopic surgical treatment from Dr. Zare. He is extremely pleasant and compassionate in addition to being a talented surgeon. Highly recommended.

G K, San Jose: Laparoscopic Roux-en-y Gastric bypass

I would like to say THANK YOU Dr. Zare for saving my life. After going through a divorce after 25 years, I decided it was time to care of me. I can't believe it has been 1 year since I have had my surgery and 150 pounds I went from a size 28 to now a 10-12!!!! I am now able to cross my legs (which I haven't been able to do for 30 years), and to do things I never thought I could, like touching my toes or kneel down to pick up something, taking up 1 seat instead of 2 and to ride a roller coaster again. These may be little things to some people but to someone who has been big for 30 years, these are big milestones for myself. I am now able to shop in a regular size store and not a big girl store. I have known quite a few people who have had the gastric bypass surgery by different surgeons and have not received the excellent care that I have received from Dr. Zare. His bed side manner is one of the best that I have ever seen or experienced. My daughter and family had many concerns regarding the surgery, Dr. Zare took the time to explained in full details to my daughter and to make sure she didn't have any questions before the surgery. Every day I count my blessings for having Dr. Zare in my life. I have now gone to my 30th high school reunion which, I was too embarassed to attend before. Being able to experience things that I haven't done in so many years is a whole new experience. My daughter and myself are now doing things that I should have done with her when she was younger, but was too embarassed to do them.
THANK YOU AGAIN DR. ZARE FOR SAVING MY LIFE. 

R W, Santa Clara: Laparoscopic colon surgery

A few weeks before my 79th birthday I began to experience a series of seemingly unrelated symptoms: insomnia, leg cramps, abdominal pain, diarrhea, , weight loss (about 5 pounds a month, without dieting or any new exercise), and chronic fatigue. There’s probably no “official” medical explanation for this, but it may be that my body was crying out for me to pay it some attention. As it turned out, what I had was a malignant tumor in the cecum area of the colon—near where my appendix used to be. This diagnosis resulted from a somewhat overdue colonoscopy. The gastroenterologist gave me a short list of surgeons, including Dr. Marc Zaré, who practices at Good Samaritan Hospital in Los Gatos, CA. I believe in God, and I believe that meeting this doctor was an act of Divine mercy. Not only does Dr. Zaré have exceptional skill (with a sterling reputation among his peers and patients), but he has an uncommon level of humane interest in the people who need his services.

We had an extensive pre-op conference, in which he explained very clearly how he would approach a solution to my problem. He answered all my questions (and those of my wife, who asks plenty!) About 5 weeks ago he operated on me, using a laparoscopic technique. He had cautioned me that my tumor was large enough that a larger incision might be needed. Fortunately, it wasn’t, so healing time was much shorter than it would otherwise have been. During the operation he presented 32 surrounding lymph nodes to the attending pathologist. All that tissue was found to be “clean.” At his daily visits to the hospital, he was informative and encouraging, and spent a generous amount of his time. I was discharged four days later, and the speed and extent of recuperation at home has amazed my friends and family. I am very grateful to this man, and I suggest you consider meeting him if you ever find yourself needing an extraordinary surgeon in the Laparoscopic and Bariatric specialties. 

C I, San Jose: Laparoscopic bariatric surgery

I went to Dr. Zare in April and had my surgery! He has helpeed me change my life! It is amazing! For the first time ever, I was able to go on a slide with my son at the park. It was such a huige moment in my life! I have lost over 125 pounds since April 18, 2011 and it just keeps going! Thanks Dr. Zare and BEN! 

J C, San Francisco: Laparoscopic Heller Myotomy

My eating and my life is pretty normal - I walk and exercise everyday - along w/ my normal day-to-day. I'm not a believer in God - but I have been dealt a miracle and I am conscious of it every time I swallow solid or liquid. I want to run up to people I witness eating/drinking and shake them and tell them how very lucky they are, etc., but, of course, I'd be arrested.

I went onto an Achalasia Support Web Site and into their email to ask where I send donations and told them of my story and how their reference lead me to Dr. Zare - I've tried this twice- but no one responds.

I owe my current health and peace of mind to my wife and closest, bestest friend who 'took charge' and called 5-7 doctors on the Support Web site that Thursday - the 16th of December 2010, and I think you, Ben, were so gracious when you returned her call and said the doctor would call her later - which he did and made the appointment the next morning and Dr. Zare who took the baton from my friend and told us that cold, rainy morning that he could FIX me w/ his operation - and I'm living that FIX and I can never thank him enough and, although, I hope I never have a need for a surgeon again I will always sing Dr. Zare's praises and am frustrated for not having the circumstance to be able to show my appreciation more/better.

And, lastly besides my friend and Dr. Zare, I thank you, Ben. You're a great asset to that office by giving your complete attention to each patient and making them feel that everything is going to be alright. Thank you again.


P B, San Jose: Laparoscopic Roux-en-y gastric bypass

I have been in the medical field for the last 25 years. For the last 10 years I have researched the gastric bypass and have seen different surgeons for this procedure, not really feeling comfortable with these different surgeons. I had put off having the surgery. I talked to my primary care doctor, who had referred me to the most wonderful doctor Marc Zaré. During my first appointment, i watched a video and then had a consultation with Dr. Zaré who explained everything in detail for me and took the time to answer all my questions (which there was a lot of), and I never felt rushed like he had was in hurry to finish the appointment as some doctors make you feel.

Well I had my surgery on 09/14/2010. Two days before my surgery which was a Sunday, Dr.Zaré had called me at home to make sure I was ok. Boy, I couldn't believe that a doctor would take time out of his weekend to make sure everything was ok!!! After the surgery, he had went to talk to my family and explained everything to them (which my family was totally impressed) and answered any questions that they may have had.

During my 2 day hospital stay, Dr. Zaré came in a couple times a day just to make sure everything was ok with me and did I have any questions. I had such a wonderful eperience with Dr. Zaré that I highly recommend him to anyone that is thinking of having this life changing surgery. I can now say that Dr. Marc Zaré is truly my angel and has changed my life in the most wonderful way. His office staff name Ben is also awesome, you can call him with any question that you may have and he never makes you feel like he's to busy to help you made sure that all my disabilities forms were filled out properly and got my claims processed extra fast.. I cannot express in words all the gratitude that I have for Dr. Zaré for how he has changed my life. He will forever be my angel in my heart for saving my life.

Posted on 06/03/2010

E B, Gilroy: Laparoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy

First let me say that Dr.Zare and his staff are great. Dr.Zare office staff will walk you thru the whole process. When I need to push up my appointments to meet my scheduled Ben was able to meet my needs. This was great since I had time constraints. Dr. Zare takes your well being in his hands. You have to start a liquid diet for at least a week If you have a high BMI like I did (55) he will have you get a IVC filter in place in case of blood clots. Also a sleep test done so if you have sleep apnea you can get a CPAP machine for when you our on your meds after surgery. I am 5 days post op and feeling good!

 

S N, San Jose: Laparoscopic colon surgery

I can highly recommend Dr. Zare. I'm so grateful. Basically, he saved my life. In April 2011, I got a very successful laparoscopic surgery for colon cancer with only two tiny scars and no complications. I really appreciated his visit at the hospital where he immediately informed me about the pathology report. When I was at his office I never felt rushed. He explained all the details of the procedure and took the time to answer all my questions. His receptionist Ben is very empathetic, helpful and patient. I never had long waiting times and I felt supported in a very professional and caring way.

N W, San Jose: Laparoscopic Roux-en-y gastric bypass

This was my first surgery ever. It has been three weeks since my surgery (without any complications). I have to say that Dr. Zaré is a wonderful surgeon. He is very thorough and I felt safe in his hands. When heading into the operation room Dr. Zaré made me feel very comfortable. I know that it is weird to say, but the reassurance I received was so beneficial. I also appreciate Dr. Zaré extra thoroughness after surgery. Everything that I have been going through, I expected, because Dr. Zaré made sure I was well informed of the procedure and post surgery. Dr. Zaré has a very positive demeanor and I am very glad that a friend of mine recommended him. I am very thankful to Dr. Zaré for providing a tool that will assist me on my healthy lifestyle. Dr. Zaré's assistant, Ben, is good as well. He will assist with your insurance and will help with any other questions you might have. I really need to thank both of them.

L L, Sunnyvale: Laparoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy

I would like to Thank Dr. Zare, his staff and all the hospital staff for the excellant care I received when I had my surgery on July 18th, 2011. They all made my decision to have this surgery very easy. Their support and care made my recovery VERY easy.

Thank all of you again.

M R, San Jose: Laparoscopic Roux-en-y gastric bypass

This surgery has been a positive change in my life. I have lost a great amount of weight, my health has improved and I feel less tired and more energetic. I am very greatfull and feel blessed to have had Dr. Zaré perform my surgery. Posted on 04/13/2010

M S, San Jose: Laparoscopic Roux-en-y gastric bypass

Dr. Zaré is great! He was very warm and down to earth. Speaking with doctors can be intimidating for me but I was completely comfortable with him and his staff. They made this process so clear. He explained everything to me and was eager to answer all my questions. His assistant Ben is amazing! He helped me with the insurance struggle and even worked with my HR to find a surgery date that worked perfect for me. I really feel like I hit the jackpot with them. Posted on 03/24/2010

Y A, San Jose: Laparoscopic Roux-en-y gastric bypass

I was referred to Dr. Zaré's practice through word of mouth from a very close relative of mine had her surgery with Dr. Zaré last year and recommended him highly. I have been so happy with my decision to choose his practice and change my life forever. I decided to have laparoscopic gastric bypass surgery to improve my health. AI have lost over 70 lbs in less than 9 months.

I feel very healthy and have a lot of energy. The experience with Dr. Zaré's practice has been incredible. Everything was handled very professionally and efficiently. The office works very smoothly and Benjamin, the bariatric coordinator is very compassionate and excellent at what he does. Dr. Zaré instilled a lot of confidence in me and helped me make a decision about surgery. The practice does not charge an exorbitant fee and deals directly with your insurance company which his very rare in the bay area. There are many other practices in the area with either inferior results or with surgeons who come from out of town to San jose, operate in many different cities, and do not give you the same level of attention. I highly recommend the practice to anyone interested in receiving personalized attention and outstanding surgical care.
Posted on 03/03/2010

M L T, San Jose: Laparoscopic Roux-en-y gastric bypass

This Surgery was a life changer for me. It gave me hope for a much longer life and a healthy change. This surgery gave memy life back. I no longer am a diabetic, no longer have high cholestrol and High Blood Pressure. I have lost weight and feel great. Thank you.
Posted on 02/03/2010

C D, San Jose: Laparoscopic Roux-en-y gastric bypass

Sept 09 - My surgery was 6 months ago. I am amazed at how fast my life and body has changed. I have lost over 100 pounds and my BMI has gone from Morbidly Obese to get this NORMAL. I am 13 pounds away from my goal and life is fantastic. Dr. Zaré' has been with me every step of the way. From follow up visits to phone calls. When I have needed him he has been there (and Ben is pretty great too). I even get calls just to make sure I am doing good and staying on track. I could not have chosen a better surgeon or office to be my partner through my bariatric surgery.

Thanks for saving my life and helping me make the best of my future!rnrnFeb 09 - After having my insurance approved and then denied 4 years ago (and losing and gaining 50 pounds) - I felt like I was ready to start the process of looking into weight loss surgery once again. I met with 3 surgeons in the San Jose area and was most impressed with Dr. Zaré' and his office coordinator, Ben. Dr. Zaré' was very informative in explaining the benefits/risks of gastric bypass vs lap band. His friendly, relaxed and upbeat manner reassured me that he was the surgeon for me. I did not feel any pressure from him or his office (which I did from one of the other surgeons). My approval process was incredibly fast (thanks Ben) and I was scheduled for surgery on March 4, 2009. My surgery did not go as smooth as planned due to a medication reaction on my part.

However, Dr. Zaré was completely on top of the problem, working with me, my family, the nurses and additional doctors to resolve the problem. His bedside manner was fantastic, always reassuring me in his calm manner that everything was going to work out fantastic (and it did!) plus he was always available (checking in on me in person numerous times a day and by phone with the nursing staff). I was well aware of the risks before surgery, but never thought that I would have any problems, I am so glad that Dr. Zaré was my surgeon. His conservative proactive approach and excellent surgical skills truly saved my life. I give him an A+ rating in both surgical competence and bedside manner.
Posted on 09/11/2009

a_new_me79: San Jose: Laparoscopic Roux-en-y gastric bypass

From the first time I called Dr. Zaré office, my mind went from nervous, to at ease. The person who answered my call was such a sweetheart to me. i had told him all about what had happened before with my insurance, and the other surgeon I was pursuing before Dr. Zaré, and he was very willing to listen to me, and put my mind at ease as much as he possibly could! He has made all of the insurance, paper work, and getting my appointments set up so quick, and easy for me.

He has always been there to answer any questions while I was waiting for my approval, and even was willing to come in on a weekend to get me my pre opt protein meal replacements. For that, and everything else, I truly thank him! As for Dr. Zaré, He called me the day after I called his office asking questions. He answered all of the many things I asked him, and brought me into my first visit with him only four days latter! He has been very throe with explaining everything that goes into the surgery, as well as having a exceptional power point presentation, that covered all of his education, and degrees, and even showed us exactly what it looks like when they do the different types of WLS. He went over all of the history of all of the many things that have been done from the very first time they started doing WLS in the 1950's, until today, and how far they have come, and what has been learned over time.

He spent all of his morning with me, offering to answer any questions I may have. He is a very intelligent, caring, kind man, and I feel so blessed and safe knowing he will be the one to do this for me! I would recommend him to anyone who was interested in looking into WLS! So far, I couldn't be happier!

 

 
Marc M. Zaré, MD, FACS
Advanced
Laparoscopic
Surgery
Marc M. Zaré, MD, FACS
Read about Dr. Zare
Robatic Surgery
Am I a Candidate for Laparoscopic Surgery
Commonly Asked Questions
Patient Testimonials
Schedule a Surgical Consultation
Patient Testimonials
Write a Testimonial
Ask Dr Zare
Enter the code as it is shown*
Ask Dr Zare
Multimedia Patient Education
Multimedia Patient Education
Follow Us YouTube Twitter Facebook LinkedIn
Georgetown University Hospital University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Diplomate American Board of Surgery Fellow American College of Surgeons Member Society of American Gastrointestinal & Endoscopic Surgeons Member American Society for Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery
  Your Practice Online